Getting Closer to the Weapon Snitch

Posted: March 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

It’s the first of March, and thus far everything is on track for The Weapon Snitch and the Crown of Blood. It has been written, edited once by bestest friend ever, then I went through and marked it up in my own ink. Now all that is left is for me to go in and fix all the stuff we identified, and that should put us very close to a finished project.

What intrigues me is that so far this has not been remotely as difficult of a process as I was expecting. I resist edits and criticism like a mad dentist with an affinity to scotch and cocaine, and this was the last thing I wanted to do after finishing my first original novel. It hasn’t been as bad as all that. It hasn’t been a wild romp for kids of all ages either, mind you. When you see yourself make the same mistake over and over again, you kind of get a little fed up with yourself. I wanted to rip the keyboard out of my hands (or off my lap, or whatever) and scream STOP DOING THAT! But I also learn quickly, and as I am made more aware of mistakes that I make, I tend to stop making them.

And the amazing thing is that there were times when it was fun–when I surprised myself with the writing, or when a phrase that was giving me trouble at the time of writing magically rearranged itself in the edits. There were times when I was disappointed with the book, but there were times when I was really impressed. Granted, these are just personal edits; this has yet to make it through the big hurdles of a professional publishing house editor. But I think when I have finished with this draft of the book, I will ultimately be happy with the product and ready to see if it can make its way in the world.

But we are just starting this new phase in the process. Luckily, it looks like I have a lot of time to work on it tonight. I am hoping that by the time the sun comes up, I’ll have a fairly strong grasp of when this book will be ready to meet the public.

Exciting exciting times.

Leave a Reply

